0 Items $0.00

We All Play (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
We All Play Cover Image
By Julie Flett, Julie Flett (Illustrator)
$17.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


**STARRED REVIEW**
Kirkus Reviews, Publisher's Weekly

From Julie Flett, the beloved author and illustrator of Birdsong, comes a joyous new book about playtime for babies, toddlers, and kids up to age 7, perfect for fans of But First, We Nap.

Animals and kids love to play This wonderful bookcelebrates diversity and the interconnectedness of nature through an Indigenous perspective, complete with a glossary of Cree words for wild animals at the back of the book, and children repeating a Cree phrase throughout the book. Readers will encounter birds who chase and chirp, bears who wiggle and wobble, whales who swim and squirt, owls who peek and peep, and a diverse group of kids who love to do the same, shouting:

We play too / kim taw naw m na

A beautiful ode to the animals and humans we share our world with, We All Play belongs on every bookshelf.

Praise for Julie Flett's Birdsong:

An American Indian Youth Literature Honor Title

A 2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor Title

A Best Book of 2019 in Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, and Horn Book.

"Cree-M tis author/illustrator Julie Flett's smooth and lyrical words and gorgeous... images truly capture the warmth and solidarity of the female protagonists in this tender intergenerational friendship story."--The Horn Book

"Emotionally stunning."--Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

p>"Simple and profound, this tender story is a reminder that finding a new friend can make a new place feel like home. Highly recommended for purchase."--School Library Journal (Starred Review)

"Flett's subtle, sensitive story delicately traces filaments of growth and loss through intergenerational friendship, art making, and changing moons and seasons."--Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

Product Details
ISBN: 9781771646079
ISBN-10: 1771646071
Publisher: Greystone Kids
Publication Date: May 25th, 2021
Pages: 48
Language: English